Newbie Question

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tncsant

Reaction score
Ok, I am sure you guys and girls have seen this question pop up before but I need to ask it anyway. I am looking at buying a used jon boat for fishing reservoirs (electric motor only) and some lakes (limited to 20 hp). I have two sons 7 and 10 that will be with me and maybe my wife. Would you recommend semi v or flat bottom, 14' or 16'. I am new to the boating world and any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Oh and I am new to this site as well!

Thanks for any info,

T

If the waters are small and fairly calm I would go with the flat bottom for more fishing stability. If the waters you fish on tend to kick up waves then the v will give you a better ride, but the boat will rock a little more than the flat one while fishing and moving around the boat. From what you describe, I would go with a 1448 flat bottom jon at the minimum with a 80 pound 24 volt dual battery setup. :D

Since your wife will go sometimes and your boys are only going to get bigger, I'd go with a 15' or 16'er for a little more comfort.

I fish out of a 1442 flat bottom, it has about a 63" beam. For tournaments my partner and I are both over 200 lbs. I also have fished with my wife and grandaughter just fine. Like Jim said, it is a bit more stable than a semi-v. Seeing that most time is spent fishing and not running I also recommend a flat bottom. The 1448 has a 71" beam and will be even more stable. You can see my boat at https://www.electric-bass.org click on navigation menu, click on fully rigged ebc boat

not saying bigger is always better, but you can't make a boat bigger if u know what i mean when you need the space. by the way welcome..... :fishing2:

:WELCOME: