When it hits the fan - solar or generator?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wasilvers

Reaction score
Maybe it's from watching too much Walking Dead, but I've been on this kick lately about survivalists, prepping for the worst, etc. I realize that it may never happen, but (staying out of politics) our country is pretty far in the crapper and being an accountant, I can't see the consumer/service industry like our country has now surviving for much longer. SO, that out of the way, what are your thoughts on solar power/inverters vs using generators? I did some calcs with just my water distiller in mind. I figure I could get away with one inverter, and 4 batteries and one solar panel to start, but for when it hits the fan, I want some reduncancies, so 2 stackable inverters (combined for 3000W - 6000W peak) seem like the cat's meow. Here's what it looks like I'd need for solar power:
  • 1500W Inverter $235.00
  • +1500 W stackable $235.00
  • Batteries (4) $320.00
  • Have 2 boat Batteries $(160.00)
  • Solar Panels (300 Watt) (2) $1,000.00 - made in Milwaukee :)
  • Charge Controllers (2) $270.00
  • Total Cost $1,900.00

All this to run 1000 watts for 4 hours a day and charge up in 8 hours time.

OR I could go and buy a Generac 3250 Generator (made in Wisconsin) for about $450. It would provide 1500 watts for 9 hours and is rechargable right away with gasoline.

NOW the kicker... will gasoline be available in a really bad situation? If so, will it cost my firstborn child? I did a one year cost of running these scenarios and gas comes out to $3193 for a year (at $5 a gallon) - Solar power would be free provided the sun shone.