Tin travel, what distance

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MarcusBrown

Reaction score
Hi tb

Iv posted a few topics over the last year or so but as a recap I'm new to boats but since getting my first last year can't get enough of it. Posting from london U.K.

I'm hopefully organising a charity fund raising event in which I'm aiming to travel from london to a midland city, most probably Coventry or Birmingham on my open top 12" v hull. Crazy? Probably. The idea is to either camp alongside rivers and actually on my boat under a custom made collapsable tarp cabin when needs be.

My question to you guys is:
How far a distance do you travel on your tins?

How long is enough on your boats?

How far would one have to travel on a boat for you to think, blimey that's a mission and donate accordingly,

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

When I had a tin, I was a kid, in my mid teens I often went on 25 mile round trip runs through pretty messy bays with 2' close chop. I was a kid (nuts), even went out an inlet once or twice over mild breakers. Also took my tinny though the swamps and would run the back bay/swamps all day long.

Distance was only limited to my imagination and how far a 6 gal tank of gas would take me.

At my current age and ability I'd have no problem going 100 miles as long as my seat was comfortable and the water was calm.

Your question depends much on what conditions your riding in, if the river is calm you can go forever, if it's rough 1 mile can be a killer.

Crazyboat said:
Your question depends much on what conditions your riding in, if the river is calm you can go forever, if it's rough 1 mile can be a killer.
^ ^ ^ ^ THIS! ^ ^ ^ ^