1954 Starcraft

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Islander78

Reaction score
Just inherited my Dad's boat last summer, he brought it down for my birthday. Thanks Daddio!..its been in the family since the 80's i think. I replaced the floor in it 10 years ago. Now it's mine to restore. Its a solid boat, but its in need of a rehab. First priority is replacing the transom. I will also be replacing the floor again. Also looking for someone that can make me some new plexiglass for the windshield. Needs new electical ran, and thinking of adding a radio and speakers. Its missing a few original parts that i will also be on the hunt for. This site is chalk full of experienced and interested folks. So i know im in the right place! Any help is greatly appreciated. This is my first boat so im new. But i am also a 20yr carpenter so i am well capable. More pictures to follow as to document my progress..considering starting a Youtube channel.

Attachments

• 20180713_102615.jpg
    20180713_102615.jpg
    62.5 KB · Views: 2,520
Heres what im facing. I counted 70 fasteners in the transom.

Attachments

• 20190324_163212.jpg
    20190324_163212.jpg
    75.5 KB · Views: 2,464
  • 20190324_163115_HDR.jpg
    20190324_163115_HDR.jpg
    108.4 KB · Views: 2,464
That style of boat is one of my favorites. I can't help you with the windshield questions but suspect the current one might not be original from 1954. I am looking forward to following your project.

I've been searching the internet for any records or pictures of the 54'. Id like to make it as original as possible. Does anyone have a way to find out more about this old Starcraft?

As good a this site is I recommend going to www.iboats.com. There is a very active starcraft forum with lots of restored boats.

I like everything about the lines of your boat.
It is worth saving for sure.