1964 Star craft refit.

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Getducks!

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to the forum and looking for some advice and suggestions for my project. I have never done anything like this this before so all help will be much appreciated!

My project is a 1964 Star craft 12 foot v bottom aluminum boat. I don't know any more specifics than that, I picked it up on the cheap My goal for the refit is to completet restore it to new. I am also thinking about building a deck in the front but not sure how to go about it.

The first thing I want to address is the paint. There are two coats of previous paint and both are peeling. I want to completely repaint and do the best job/ use the best materials I can
Also there is old carpet in the inside of the boat I want to take out and paint instead. Also I want to replace the transom and the wood seats.
So here are my specific questions:
1. Can I sand all the old paint off with 80/ to 100 grit sandpaper? Some one was telling that I might damage the aluminum if I sanded it too hard .
2. Is a premium paint like durabank worth the money for a good job?
3. Would it be feasible to build a deck with a little live well in the front of the boat? Any and all ideas on this would be appreciated .
4. Does anyone know what color or paint scheme a original star craft would have had?

Thanks for reading! All advice and suggestions would be appreciated by this newbi to the hobby!

Attachments

• IMG_20191219_113252884.jpg
    IMG_20191219_113252884.jpg
    4.1 MB · Views: 673
  • IMG_20191219_113259451_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20191219_113259451_HDR.jpg
    2.7 MB · Views: 673