How do you store your ammo?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KMixson

TinBoats Supporter
Reaction score
How would be the best way to store ammo? I would like to store my ammo in an airtight box without it being in ammo cans. I do not want it in my safe. I have it in coolers right now. What do you use that works well?

In a cool dry place.
I have mine in plastic ammo cans in the bedroom closet.

Since I'm a welder in addition to being a shooter....I built a 6' high 3' wide, by 3' deep safe, using 1/8 plate, double wall construction, with 5/8" fire rock insulation. Also has a door of similar construction, with a heavy duty hasp and a discus-type lock. Weighs about a thousand pounds. But, large enough to hold all the ammo I will ever buy or reload. All ammo is kept in either factory boxes, or the Case-Gard plastic reloading boxes. I keep a few bags of desiccant, as well as a rechargeable-type dehumidifier in there, to combat moisture.

All over the house in piles tbh lol. Most of my 9mm ammo is in a safe but there is .357 in various places around the living room and bedroom. Have at least a few hundred rounds of 9mm and .22 in every vehicle. I have a serious problem with ammo inventory that needs fixed.