Boat cover idea

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fullmoon

Reaction score
I used an old billboard ad/banner for my boat cover. I got it free from my pa-in-law who sells billboard advertising. These things are tough as nails if you can get one. The only drawback is they are a little heavy. I have another one that has lasted 3 years and still going strong. Just punch holes for bungies to attach. They won't rip!

Attachments

• IMG_0280.JPG
    IMG_0280.JPG
    145.1 KB · Views: 489
that's a great idea! now if only I could find someone who has them... I might stop and try to get one next time I see someone taking one down.

Wonder what they would do if I climbed up there while they were working... [-X

Well I have to jump in & say that's what I do for a living.(post billboards)Most of the boards I do have slide up strips for tri-visions.Those are the ones that change.We have a few vinyl boards.They range in size from 14 X 48 to 10 X 25.I took 2 14 X 48s & had them sealed together to put over a hoop greenhouse that I store stuff in.As stated they last a long time.Back quite a few years ago they used to throw them away.I used to give them away to people I knew.Now they want them to give to Church's for write offs for charity.I still snag one here & there to keep my supply when I need one. :lol:

Hey Russ. I will ask my father-in-law if he can get another one. If so, I will let you know. Actually, I will see how big the piece I have left over is. How big is the boat you want to cover?

Crazyman, I guess they realized what they were throwing away had some value. For what I've spent on boat covers through the years that didn't last, I would pay for one of these discarded billboards. My other one has been in use for three years, and sits in full sun and exposure and is holding up well.