Wood Decking Life Span?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hooky1420

Reaction score
I know some of you have some great experience on this topic. This is my first build and I was wondering how long I can expect the wood on my boat to last under normal conditions? I more than likely won't fish in the rain, but may have a few days where I get caught out in it. Boat will be stored outside, but under shade and with a jon cover on it when not in use. All wood has been properly sealed with water seal, and it was new wood when I put it on. Just wondering how many seasons I can expect to get out of my work of art! Sound off and let me know your experiences. Thanks!

There are many variables to giving an answer to that..... what kind of sealer did you use? Is it covered with carpet? Did you make sure to seal up your ply edges?

Even a bad job though will last you a year or two.

I sealed the plywood edges, yes. I know I probably did a no-no by using Thompsons, but I was able to bum the rest of the can off my brother who used it to seal some wood a month or so ago. I'm building on a budget! There is no exposed wood - everything is under carpet - (lowes UV resitant)

Heck - if it gets me a year or two, I would be satisfied. At that point I will probably decide to do something different. I just bought the boat a few months ago and somehow find time to do something to it almost every single day. It's become a passion I think...

Hooky1420 said:
I sealed the plywood edges, yes. I know I probably did a no-no by using Thompsons, but I was able to bum the rest of the can off my brother who used it to seal some wood a month or so ago. I'm building on a budget! There is no exposed wood - everything is under carpet - (lowes UV resitant)