Welding Question

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dtwarrow

Reaction score
Guys, I'm looking at buying a welder. I had read that MIG will work for Aluminum, however I have read some posts on here stating it is not best. Any advise on what to buy? I have zero experience welding but I am fairly mechanical. I plan to read a lot and practice a lot before trying anything on a boat project. Thanks for any help!

Depends really on what you are doing with it. For most things, TIG is going to be a heck of a lot more versatile. But, it certainly ain't cheap, and you aren't going to be able to start welding on your boat after a couple months of practice.

If you will primarily be working with thicker aluminum (over .125), MIG with a spoolgun (or a push/pull gun, but they aren't cheap, and probably well above your needs) is the way to go, as it is less costly to operate, and quicker. Below about .125, I use TIG for almost everything. A handful of thinner things can be MIG welded, but it isn't easy, and appearance usually suffers. The travel speed needed to MIG thinner metals is incredibly high, making it tough to maintain a halfway uniform bead.

Ranchero does a lot with his MIG that I wouldn't even dream of doing with anything aside from TIG. Just boils down to making do with what you have. I'm sure I do a lot of machining by hand that he wouldn't dream of doing without his mill.

If you are going with a MIG, I wouldn't get anything less than a Millermatic 211 with a spoolmate 3035 or similar. Ideally though, a good midrange MIG machine is something like the 252, with Spoolmatic 30A. Much better for aluminum. If you really wanted to get something really nice, the 350P, with the pulse options and all really expand the MIG capabilities, but that is really reserved more for full time fab shops, that will be using the machine on a daily basis.