Need Some Short Pedestals for my boat and have a TM question

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

roltide05

Reaction score
Hey guys my name is Micheal and this is my first time posting on here. I have read alot of builds on here and I am quite impressed. I am currently working on putting a floor and carpeting the seats in my Waco 1836 (14', 36" bottom and 18" sides). The boat will only be used for private ponds ranging from 2 -50 acres and the public lake and small river on occasion. I want to just put pedestal seats on the benches besides decking the fron because I am afraid of it being too tipsy. My problem is that all the pedestals I find are 11" and higher and I only need probably 6" or so once I install a level floor in the boat to be comfy. Any ideas??? Also I am looking at putting one of those Minn Kota 55lb V2 bow mount TM w/i-pilot. Anyone had any experience with these and would the 55lb be too much for the boat?

Oh and how can I change my username? I got in a hurry registering and mispelled it.

Thanks

I once cut a 15" pedestal down about 6". I cut off the female end of the pedestal so as not to compromise the strength of the pin at the other end. I removed the nylon (or some kind of plastic) female insert from the cut off end and hammered it into the shortened post and it worked fine. I ended up having to cut up one side of the cut off tube and splitting it open to get the female socket out because it was too tight to get out any other way. Mine was the 3/4" pin size pedestals. The larger ones that lock into the floor socket may not work in the same way.

I think you would do good with a pedestal base, and the seat pin, and that is it. You will still be able to swivel, and to remove your seats, but you won't have the tall pedestal.

Or, if you buy the economy steel pedestals that don't remove, they offer one that is about 5-6" tall.