Jon Boat Painting?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mkalski

Reaction score
I am in the process of modifying my 14ft jon boat, and am planning on painting it. B/c of my experience, auto paint is my first choice. But wouldn't it require ALOT or body work?>Every imperfection would show right?

I'm by no means an expert, but the higher gloss the surface has, the more the imperfections show. I am struggling with this decision also for my 14' Sportsman rebuild. I want to have an automobile finish but don't want to go through all that work. My boat is actually pretty good, but still far from perfect. Let us see what you do and how it turns out.

Go to boating supply store and get some epoxy based primer for aluminum. its a lil thicker than regular spray can primer, than feather it down; or light sand... than paint over that, works well at getting rid of the imperfections!!

It's not that its so much work, just mabye not worth it when I could just get a classic jon boat paint. But what the hell ill try it just gotta wait for warmer temperatures....

A well painted boat is a thing of beauty..However, I would rather have mine factory green and let it show the scratches and dings...tells everybody I have a boat to fish from and I enjoy every moment the boat and I scrape against trees, bump into boat docks etc. No ofense ment but its like a quail gun that doesn't have any scratches or dings from being takin through the weeds and blackberry bushes. Those seem like they spend their life inside.
some good suggestions have been given...good luck and let us see the finished product..It will be great I'm sure.
peace
ron

Ok i painted mine and loved the results!