power trim or jack plate for 1448 jon?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ndthwacker

Reaction score
hey evebody i am new to to this site but have done som research on here and everyone seems to be helpful. (I am already going to appologize for my grammer as my girlfriend did all my english classes when i was younger) . I have done some research on this but i would like to get some answers on my specific setup so i am sorry if some do not like when a new thread is made about the same stuff. Here is the rundown, I have a 05 1448 tracker all weld mod v jon boat with a 20 in transom, my motor is a 92 25hp suzuki long shaft. my Cav plate sits about 1 in below the bottom of my boat. I do pretty much everything with is from bever hunting to fishing to bowfishing to running small rivers bowhunting, i know that a jet motor is the way to go for running shallow but i need a strong reverse and i dont think that is the way to go for me. I usually have 2 people in the boat with all the equipment needed for whatever i am doing. I need my boat to run shallow as i can, plus be able to plain out witha big load, during bow season i end up running 15 or so miles up a shallower river and the later the season the shallower it gets. In my mind i think that i could mount a cmc power trim 1in higher or so to do what a jackplate would do plus trim up. I was hopeing that i could trim the motor up and hall a## and that would make me run shallower plus pick up or maintain speed and help me plain out. I personally like the idea of a power trim and think that would be the way to go. But i have learned what i personally like is not always the right way to go. so if you guys could help me out, give me some pros and cons of each or let me know what you would do it would be greatly appreciated. Or just tell me to keep dreaming if that is what i need to do i can take critisism so dont hold back