New member-First project-Help getting started please!

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

feelincrappie

Reaction score
Hey everyone this is my first post. Just wanted to say how cool i think this site is and i can't wait to start my first boat. I will soon be acquiring a 12 ft flat bottom sears jon boat from my cousin. I am new to boats and not the most experienced fisherman/waterfowler in the world but i've fallen in love with both and i'm getting more serious about both. I have big plans for this little boat including a casting deck from the front to to middle benches, a pedestal seat on the deck, lights, possible livewell in the middle bench, and a camo paint job.

I guess this first post is asking where i should start and the materials i need. i was thinking about starting with the casting deck since its a little cold to start painting. I will probably add a similar post when i get around to electrical and motors (don't have one yet) etc. Any suggestions would be a huge help! I've already learned a ton just from looking around the site for a few weeks but you can never have too much input!

Thanks

Attachments

• Boat.jpg
    Boat.jpg
    33.9 KB · Views: 442
  • Model.jpg
    Model.jpg
    30.2 KB · Views: 442
You can always get started on the flooring while it's cold.
Suggestions from me are.....Foam boards under plywood floor. the foam helps to support the plywood floor between the ribs. Put at least 2 coats of spar urethane on all sides especially the edges where it's more succptable to water entering the wood. Either carpet, paint, or your favorite bedliner on the flooring. Make it so it can all pull out for cleaning.

Mount a drivers seat on the rear bench, and another seat on the middle bench for a passenger/girl/ buddy.