Question for you guys

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tdale

Reaction score
I found this site while looking up information on a 1232 boat that Academy Sports sells

I'm a Disabled Vet looking for a boat to take my son fishing and bowfishing, So I was hoping to get a boat that will not be to hard for me to deal with loading and unloading. However from what I have read on this site I see most people say that the 1232 is too narrow for my intended purpose due to instability.

I know it's not a tin boat but would I be better off with a "bass hound" plastic type boat https://www.amazon.com/KL-Industries-Water-Quest-Fishing/dp/B002GO6BU6/ref=wl_it_dp_o?ie=UTF8&coliid=I312U53XEJAWGF&colid=12DY8KA9EO5KY or would I be better off with a 1232

I'm on a limited budget of $1200, so what would you guys recommend with such a small boat budget?

Thanks
Tim
DFW Area, TX

Something to look into. Lowe Boats has a veteran's discount program on their boats. =D> Might want to check it out. I am also a vet, but right now my budget can't afford a new boat even with the discount. But when I'm able to afford it, I WILL be taking advantage of this discount!

Tdale,
Welcome and thanks for joining. That boat in your link has very limited leg space. I do not recommend it. I have fished out of the exact same boat. If going that route i would look for a pelican/basshunter. They are pontoon style and more stable than that boat.

Check out directboats.com for the 11 footers. I have one of those too. Great little boat for 2 people on small waters. Bowhunting will be less than ideal, but will work.

https://www.directboats.com/minibassboats.html

Also if time is not an issue you can score a really nice older boat off of craigslist if your timing is right.

Good luck,
Jim

thank you for the link and advice,