Jon Boat Repair - NOOBIE Here!

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

square1

Reaction score
I'm sure this has been answered 1001 times, but here goes. I inherited a 14' jon boat
in -dire- need of repair. We've used it a few time at the hunting camp. but it leaks like a
sieve.

I got it home the other day, hosed it down for close inspection. Here's what I have found:
2 loose rivets.
several places of fiberglass repair.
numerous pin holes in the hull.
In dire need of a new transom.
Doesn't have a drain plug.
BTW, this boat is at least 28 years old as I saw an '83 registration decal.

About the only time it will be used will be at the camp, and then only with a trolling motor. I don't
want (or for that matter need) to throw hundreds of dollars to get it sea worthy.

With all of this said, I have little metal working experience. Tons of woodworking, but not metal.
Any words of wisdom for this noobie????? If I could figure out how to upload photo's I've got a couple.

Square 1

I'd try to re-buck the loose rivets. For the other holes, cover one side with tape and fill them with JB Weld, let it dry and put another coat of JB Weld on both sides and sand as needed to desired smoothness. I'd also JB Weld the rivets after you re-buck them. Replace the transom if you can (that's up to you though) and buy a new drain plug.

Ictalurus-
IT doesn't currently have a drain plug. I am hesitant
to put yet another hole in it! :LOL2: :LOL2:

Sorry man, I thought you were missing the plug, not the hole :LOL2: My old 12' Sea King didn't have one either and I just left it alone.

Also, I'm not much of a fiberglass expert, or even a novice, so whatever you decide to do with that would probably be better that anything I can offer.

square1 said:
Ictalurus-
IT doesn't currently have a drain plug. I am hesitant
to put yet another hole in it! :LOL2: :LOL2: