How To Camo A Tin Boat

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BassBlaster

Reaction score
I havnt seen a "how to" posted on applying camo to a boat here yet so I decided I'll post my experience today. I'm no expert by the way. This was my first time but it turned out well.

I started by sandblasting my tin. Lots will tell you that sandblasting is not a good idea. I think otherwise but thats another story. After sandblasting, my project got held up for a year so my tin sat bare and oxidizing the entire time. Because of that, I spent multiple hours with a grinder and cup brush cleaning the oxidation off before painting. This step would not have been necissary had it not sat bare for so long. Next was Self Etching Primer. I used Rustoleum spray bombs. I used 5 cans. I applied 2 coats of primer to every area to be painted and let it set overnight. I then lightly sanded the primer with 220 grit. The primer said to use 400 grit but the paint said to use 220 grit. What gives, lol. I went with 220 because I had some on hand. I then blasted all the dust off with a blow gun on my compresor and hauled the boat out into the driveway. I wiped it all down with Mineral Spirits to be sure I had removed all the primer dust and let it dry. Now we are ready for paint!!

This is the primer sanded and cleaned and ready for the first coat of paint. The tape and newspaper are just keeping my new Steelflex from catching overspray...

DSC01412.jpg

For painting the camo, I ordered a stencil kit from Reelfoot Custom Camo. There are a ton of places that sell camo stencils but I couldnt find any I liked except for the ones at Reelfoot. They sell a couple different sizes in various patterns. The pattern were doing today is called "River Bottoms". I'll be using Krylon Ultra Flat Camo spray bombs.