figuring casting deck and floor

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

acwd

Reaction score
I am getting ready to put casting decks and a floor in a boat I got give to me. Basically its a hull or shell. Nothing inside. Someone stripped the inside of this boat originally it was a Richline Big 16 day cruiser. Anyway how do I figure out how the boat sits in the water without putting it in the water? Should the deck and floor be level with the top of the boat? Its a V bottom boat. About 66 inches wide at the transom and 70 something at the beam. This is my first build like this. All of the supports will be Aluminum and welded in. I have the technology to weld them in.

Thanks

Steve

I forgot to add where in the id numbers on this boat? The tag is long gone and I have searched all over the boat for something and have found nothing

Steve

At some point in history they also put id numbers on the rear of the boat etched into the aluminum. If that's not the case with yours I don't know that there would be another way to find them.

I have looked every common place that the ID numbers would be and nothing. So its off to battle the DNR! Just got to figure out how to make the floor and deck level when its in the water.

Thanks
Steve

It shouldnt matter too much but you may want to think about where you want your batteries, tank, motor weight, decking weight, etc. all of these variables can offset the weight causing the floor and/or deck not to be level. Even we're you stand and where a guest in the boat stands. It won't always be level but you may want to start by factoring those plans in and try to compensate for them the best you can. The most best way it put it in the water so you know where to start, in my opinion.