Newbie here!

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cdover73

Reaction score
Hello all,

I was referred here by one of your members. I can't believe there is a site dedicated solely to tin boats! I just bought a 2008 Lowe Stinger 170 with Merc 60 4-stroke. I had a heck of a time deciding on the purchase, but after three trips out in the first three days of owning it, I am very pleased. I bought tin because I wasn't ready for the big jump to glass, much less the note that comes with it. I wanted a practical boat that would last a lifetime but at the same time offer the same features a glass boat would. The Lowe is wider than all the other boats I looked at and the price was very pleasing. I could have went with a 75 Opti, but I was told by the dealer that the ones they have equipped with the heavier 75 porpoised a lot, and only had about 2-3 mph over the 60 top end. After the motor upgrade I ended up with a little over $17 out of pocket. I wasn't looking for speed anyway. I have gotten 40mph (speedo, not GPS) with two people and full fuel, livewell, tackle, ice chest, etc. That's plenty fast enough for me!
I look forward to sharing experiences and obtaining advice from all of you here.

cdover73

Welcome. Lowes are a good boat. I went with a Tracker and decided not to max out on HP either. I can hit 46 MPH GPS with mine with the 90. Couldn't see dropping another $7,000 for 6MPH on the 135. Make sure you post some pix for us gander at. Where are you located?

Also, correction on my first post. I said $17 out of pocket on the upgrade, I meant $17,000! The upgrade was about $2100. Small mistake...my bad... :wink:

Jim,

I got a couple answers for you! There's not a lot of info on the specifics, even on Lowe's web page.

1. The bilge pump is manual with a 500 gph pump. I think I may upgrade to a larger pump, maybe an 800 or 1000.