1970 12 foot Sea King

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Goon

Reaction score
Hello all, I am new here so go easy on me lol. I have a 12 foot Sea King my old man gave me in high school. Me and my buddies put in a new transom, painted it, dubbed it the "EdmundfitzGoonburghandy (I have been nicknamed 'Goon' since 4th grade), added a hatch up front since the front seat was carved for a battery...That was in 2006

Now I am a college graduate and a software developer in Pittsburgh PA, and I would like to fix my boat up again, but with a LOW deck and better paint. I'm not going to get carried away, no fancy storage, just want a deck on her.

I was given a 5hp Sea King (Clinton) motor that I think will be fine on this boat.

My only issue is the boat seems to be quite shallow (maybe 2 feet deep, I'll measure tomorrow), and even though I am on my way to weighing 200 pounds (263 current) I am still concerned with weight on the boat.

My old man told me; him, my uncle, and a friend, each weighing over 200 pounds had a 5hp motor, gear, and a chocolate cake (yes, cake) with them on this boat in the 1980's when a tornado hit nearby while they were fishing on the Keystone Power Dam, hitting white caps and were able to make it safely to shore without taking on water.

^point of this story is my old man told me the capacity plate limit of 450lbs is too low. Opinions?

205679_1020591792598_1159271342_30052459_7713_n.jpg

Here is my only current image of the boat and how I used to lug it around in my car (girls loved the wagon and it got me through college) I will be taking some more pictures tomorrow and throwing them up.

Thanks all!