Custom Pedestal Seat/Storage

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SkeezGrizz

Reaction score
Hello Everyone. I have been browsing this forum for a few months looking at all of the different projects. Some very solid work by all of you. I have a 1232 Voyager Flat Bottom. Wanted to add a pedestal seat without going through the addition of a full deck. The idea was to build a box in front of my front bench seat and reinforce it to withstand the pressure of leaning during use. I never sit when I fish, so I wanted the extra height. You'll see the center compartment is the housing for the seat base. The base is attached with 6 T-Nuts and brass machine screws. The pedestal will run through the center for support. The side hatches will be used for lure box storage and possibly a battery housing for the trolling motor. Here is what I have done so far.

The Boat
IMG_0335.JPG

The Box Design
photo.JPG

photo%25281%2529.JPG

The Hatches and Center Panel
photo%25284%2529.JPG

T-Nuts to hold the seat base
photo%25282%2529.JPG

I am using a rubberized spray sealant for water proofing. this is after the first pass...left most of the inside for round two.
photo%25283%2529.JPG

Your thoughts are most welcome!

-Sean

Welcome to the site. How long is the pedestal you're putting in? How far does it extend out of the box?

Brine said:
Welcome to the site. How long is the pedestal you're putting in? How far does it extend out of the box?