Type of plywood to use

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dockside85

Reaction score
Hey all!

On my lunch break today I went to Home Depot to do some cost reconnaissance for plywood for the new deck on my tin project (Yes, I shop at Home Depot and probably always will! My dad was a long time vice president for the company.). My first thought was to get a 4’x8’ sheet of the sanded pine, but then I saw the kind of gnarly looking subflooring boards made up of all the little shards of wood compressed together. I’ve never used this kind of wood before so I don’t know much about it, but it’s about a third to half the price of the nice and smooth sanded pine. Has anyone used this kind of wood in their build? I figured it would probably feel the same underneath carpet as the more expensive wood does. My only concern about it is that it seems to have some kind of thin film of varnish or glue on the surface, maybe to hold it all together? That could affect water resistant varnish being able to penetrate and cure. Has anyone used this type of wood with any success or is it recommended to use the pine?

Attachments

• IMG_1418.jpg
    IMG_1418.jpg
    114.7 KB · Views: 527
Dockside85 said:
My first thought was to get a 4’x8’ sheet of the sanded pine, but then I saw the kind of gnarly looking subflooring boards made up of all the little shards of wood compressed together.

Stick with your first choice and coat it with three solid layers of Spar Urethane. Not 100% certian, but the composite boards are not as structurally sound.

Don't use that OSB junk, it won't last. Don't use pressuer treated either.

Do use exterior grade pine or fir plywood. See if they have an ACX or BDX grade. The first 2 letters are the grades for the faces with A being the smoothest with very few or no knots, the X stands for exterior grade.