Best Boat for a Bay?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SaltGuy

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

New to the site but I must say there is a ton of good information and Ive learned alot already. Im currently in the market for my first boat. Im new to tin boats but not to boating in general, my father has a 26ft Cuddy Cabin and my fiances father has a similar boat. However I would like to become a new boat owner myself and have always been interested in Aluminum boats.

My first question would be what size boat would be good for my intended use. I plan to use it in the creeks and rivers that run off the Chesapeke bay in Maryland (If anyone knows the area it would be like Stoney Creek, Rock Creek, Magothy River, Severn River, etc), but also take it out in the bay on good days. I would lke one that I can fit 2 to maybe 3 people in it for Fishing and Crabbing. I assume probably a 16 footer would be ideal (which are fairly easy to find around here) and mabe an 18 but havent seen any of those up for sale in a long time. I also think that maybe one with higher sides and a greater width because it can get choppy at times

Also any specific brands that are recomended, so far Ive been looking at Lowe's, Alumicraft, Polar Kraft, and Tracker so far, but any other brands or names that anyone would recomend would be most helpful

Thanks Everyone

Hey Saltguy,
Welcome to TinBoats! The 18 footers are rare because most people that have them - hang on to them. A 16 would likely do what you're looking for. If the rivers are rockey - you may want to go with welded versus riveted. Good luck with your search!