Water Skiing Behind a Tinny . . .

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PATRIOT2

Reaction score
Does anyone water ski behind their tinny? I'd like to know the minimum hp required.
I'm guessing 90HP 2-stroke on a 16' hull.

I've water skied, comfortably, behind a 15' powered by an old (crank rated, pin drive) 40 hp.

Probably wouldn't be the best way to teach an absolute novice, unless they are fairly small, as one does have to push water for a bit, but once you get moving, it works well.

Funny thing is, a good friend of ours, and his whole family is seriously involved in competitive water skiing. His nearly grown kids rank in the top 3 nationally, so they are pretty heavily invested in water skiing. Growing up though, he learned on a fiberglass boat with a 25, and really thought he was living well when his dad replaced that with a 40 horse, as that was one of the biggest motors on the lake. :lol:

These days, they're running MasterCrafts and Correct Crafts with 6 liter inboards, and he says if all he had was the 40 horse these days, he likely wouldn't even bother. Funny how much the perception can change in short time.

Not trying to thread steal, but along the same lines, what about towing a tube ? My 7 year old just wants to be pulled along, and I know my 9.9 can do it... Just wondering if anyone else has done it?

I seen some guys knee boarding behind a small fiberglass boat with a 25hp. Looked like it had plenty of power. Not sure but it seems like a 25 on a light tin boat would do better???