Small leaks in boat

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

barrynfla

Reaction score
Hi. I'm a new member and I'm glad I found this forum. I've never owned a jon boat before (or any boat, except an old wooden row boat). I just bought an '84 Sears Gamefisher and filled some water in it to test for leaks. I've found a few but there isn't a lot of leakage. The worst of them leaks a drop about every 3 seconds or so. It's right at the midpoint of the boat.

I have no experience with aluminum and don't have a rivet gun. Is there something I can use to seal the leaks, preferably from the inside as it's much easier to get to? Are these leaks something that's going to sink me? I'm gonna be fishing in Tampa Bay, mostly in quite shallow water.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks,

Barry

It sounds like coating your rivets and seams with Gluvit or Coat-it will be your best fix. Coat the inside of the seams and rivets and follow the manufacturers directions to the "T", especially the preparation instructions.

Both products can be bought online.

Just looked under the boat and the 3 second leak is coming from the trailer. The inside of the left carpeted bunk is soaking wet and it's running down to the forward end and leaking onto the trailer cross brace. This is more difficult than it seemed!

What do y'all think about J-B Marine Weld?

it will work temporarily jb seems to crack after sometime gluvit will get in to the nooks and crannies/seems

You'd be better off to plug it with bubble gum than JB weld, that stuff is as useless as a set of double D breast implants on a boar hog. First time you hit some chop, it's going to flex, and come apart.

Your best bet would be some 5200, or better yet, have the leaks welded.