Winter project--Want your advice

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Southern Appal

Reaction score
I have a 1969 Polar Kraft flat bottom that I am beginning to sand and prep for painting. I have no knowledge of boats except what I learn reading your posts. I am getting on in years, have few tools, and fewer skills. But I want to fix this vessel and go fishing and rowing and just be out on the water.

The rivets for the transom brace have been covered with a thick puddle of what looks like silicone sealant both inside and outside. You can see the bubbles in it and its stretchability in the pics.

082.JPGIMG_0259.JPGIMG_0277.JPG

So I removed the sealant, and the rivets holding the transom brace in place are large and protrude too far in my opinion.

IMG_0275.JPGIMG_0273.JPG

I want to know if the transom brace is compromised by the sloppy job of having removed and replaced the rivets. Should I drill out the rivets from the inside of the boat? Then clean up the holes and put new rivets in? Should I try to flatten the surface where the rivets need to be put in?

I have more questions regarding getting this little project done, but I will leave it at this for the moment. Thanks.

Attachments

• IMG_0278.JPG
    IMG_0278.JPG
    1.3 MB · Views: 431
Jane, as you can see, the rivets were not bucked completely and leaked. That section can be a real bear to repair. You'll need to hold a 5lb hammer over the top of the rivet inside the hull as an anvil and beat the bottom until it mushrooms with a 16 or 24oz ball peen hammer. It might be easier to have a helper hold the boat on it's side while you work the hammers as you wrap your arms around the transom. It'll also buck easier if the rivet is heated with a propane or Mapp gas torch.

Or you could smother the previous repair with 3M's 5200 and not worry about it too much. The 5200 is like crazy glue for boats.