Newbee here looking for some advice on 16ft starcraft.

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

njarz

Reaction score
Good Morning.

I just aquired a 16ft starcraft hull, with cover marine plywood and trailer, for trading 2 rods and reels. I think I got a pretty good deal. I have expierience fixing boats but this is my first time builing one form the hull up. The guy also gave me 2 1/2 sheets of 3/4 maine plywood. I have some questions:

1. Since its marine plywood - do I need to seal the wood?
2. There are aluminum braces on the sides and one in the middle, do I need to add extra supports for the floor? The boat is
6ft wide.
3. I was thinking about coating the inside bottom with something like Tuff Coat to make sure nothing leaks (I believe it
doesnt leek now, but I see it as extra insurance - maybe I am wrong?)
4. I have a 50hp Merc for this - should I put foam in between the hull and floor? If so would spray foam work?
5. On the back of the boat corners, there are usually corner brackets (not sure what you call them), but this one doesnt
have them. Do I need them? If so, could I mount wood on the inside and screw into that, or where can I find those?
6. Last one (for now) - I am going to paint the outside, the guy tried to use strippers and made a mess of it. I was
thinking of sanding the whole thing then primer and paint. Is this a good way, if so what kind of primer/paint?
Roll or spray? I dont want to spend a fortune but I still want it to look good.

Thanks in advance for any advice I receive. I have been going through this forum and you guys have made some great looking boats.

Nick

S5031347.jpg

S5031348.jpg

Welcome aboard - do a quick search on this site and I bet you find the answers to all your questions.

if not, I am certain that one of our very experienced boat re-builders will jump right in

Where are you from and where do you fish?

Welcome: