Transom Help

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

damianz31

Reaction score
Alright, little help is need, i have zero experience in building a boat, dad is helping out a little but i hate to bother him.

After going to home depot and asking around i felt like i knew more than any of the workers just by reading stuff online... which was a joke.

I need to build a transom for a boat i got, 14ft aluminum.

So i know i can't use treated wood (not sure what it looks like but i have seen some labels)
I found this piece behind the garage and im not sure if it would be good or not.
IMG_6114.jpg
IMG_6116.jpg

Any recommendations?

Link to my build:
https://forum.tinboats.net/viewtopic.php?t=37206

looks like 3/4 cdx. For a 14' jon boat I'd imagine the transom would be 1", if you have room to get one an 1-1/2 thick in there your in bussiness. Just seal it up with some epoxy resin and you'll be good to go for as long as you'll want to keep the boat. Marine ply is stronger but you ain't hangin 200 ponies back there

I have a small 4.5 hp motor....
So this wood would be fine or no?
I don't know whether its treated or not and strong enough...

If there are no stamps on it, then I'm not sure how'd you'd be sure that it is exterior grade. I guess you could put 2 layers together and as said above epoxy coat it. For me, I surely would not count on regular plywood (non marine or exterior grade) coated with urethane or worse paint holding up. If you use that I'd use epoxy, but why invest in epoxy to coat questionable wood?

2 coats of west marine epoxy and you'll be good to go. Make sure you put some sealant on the fastening screws and bolts

Look at it from outside the box - - - -

If you look around, you will see a LOT of painted plywood signs by the roadways.
Professional signmakers will use MDO (Medium Density Overlay) which will last years and years