Rivets - Riveting - Riveter

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
... but doesn't it only hammer once :?: ????????????? At least with each trigger pull ...

Never bring a semi-automatic riveter to a full-auto riveter shoot out, hah!

I would not doubt that a cordless impact driver / drill might work on aluminum rivets. Need to get the proper bit for it though.
Tim

earl60446 said:
I would not doubt that a cordless impact driver / drill might work on aluminum rivets. Need to get the proper bit for it though.
But to me ... one would NOT want to spin the rivet in the hole, I can't see that helping the seal.

For riveting, you want all of the force from the tool imparted squarely on the rivet head and parallel to the axis of the shaft/tail.

I'm a Carpenter by trade and have a few palm nailers, which we use for joist hanger nails or areas when a nailer or hammer is to difficult to reach.

If you're going to try and use it for riveting you'll need to use an tank mounted air compressor with at least 1 1/2 hp for consistent delivery.

There isn't a trigger on this tool, you just push down and that's it.
It will drive nails from 1" to 12" spikes, depending on the sleeve.

Paslode,Rigid, Bostich, and Hitachi will come with 3 sets of adapte sleeves for finishing nails to roofing nails. You also get an extra set of O-rings with it for the 4 brands mentioned.

Make sure to use a good quality pneumatic tool oil with it, or you'll prematurely wear out the O-rings much like running an outboard without water for the impeller.
I almost forgot to mention, wear padded mechanics gloves, as your hand will be numb after a few minutes :wink:

This is only for solid rivet use, right? :?: :?: :?: If so, you would still need a bucking bar. Cant see how it can be used on/for blind rivets, unless I am missing the point :oops: . If using blind rivets you can always pick this up a HF.