registration question

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kfab31

Reaction score
hey guys im new here, just picked up an old Delhi 1434 jon, there is only one problem. it has no hin tag or capacity plate anywhere on it just a Delhi sticker on both sides of the boat. so here is my question, how the hell do i register it in new jersey? i really only plan on running an electric motor on it, most lake around me dont allow gas engine so i really have no use for any of that yet. but i guess according to nj state law anything over 12ft has to be registered regardless of if its a row boat or a motorized boat (correct me if im wrong). im pretty new to all this so any advise is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

It was probably built before 1972 when there was not law requiring a HIN. Go to the office that issues titles or registrations and tell them it's an older boat, pre HIN law. Depending on your state laws you may out of luck and find you have a boat you can't use. Always know your state laws before buying a boat without the necessary legal paperwork.

man that sucks! good thing it was only a hundred bucks! ill check out the dmv i guess and see what they say. iv heard of some people registering as "home built" without paperwork but that seem a little fishy to me considering its clearly a production boat.

Hopefully you can put it on C/L and get your $100 back.
If you sell it, all you can do is describe it the best you can W/O a HIN for the Bill of Sale.
in my area, scrap metal prices have dropped to $.03 per pound.
so a 100 pounds of scrap only brings $3.00.
Aluminum is a little more but don't know by how much.
and yes, it is very risky to try to slip a factory made anything past DMV as home built !!!!

Good Luck !!

In my past experience with a 12' tin w/o numbers, Florida issued me a clear title with a new