New to the Boating World

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello everybody. I acquired an Alumicraft 1236 with a Coleman 2.6 hp outboard for free. I'm a novice when it comes to boating as i spend the majority of my time on the water in a kayak. I'm not going to give up kayaking but i do want to get the boat in the water so i can take my daughter fishing with me. I only fish in saltwater in the bays.

Will that 2.6 motor be enough to move that boat with just my daughter and I? I've seen alot of info browsing on here about max hp, not much about minimum. I'm already used to packing light for kayak fishing. I'm about 250, my daughter is only 8 and skinny as a whip. If it makes a difference the boat and motor are almost brand new. Probably less than 10 hours on them.

Thanks for any info you may have.

Just run it and see how you like it. I won't get the boat up on plane, but, if you are used to paddling, the hull speed that you get will be plenty.

As you well know, being a kayak fisherman, that if you pick your launch spots carefully, you may not have to go more than a half-mile to find fish. It is a small boat. I wouldn't want to go blasting around with my 8-year-old daughter in a tiny craft like that, anyhow.

Let us know how your maiden fishing trip with her goes, please.

Enjoy! regards, richg99

p.s.I own three kayaks and a 1652 tinny. You and I are the same size. You can always buy bigger boat and a bigger motor. if you find that is what you want.

Thanks. I don't plan on taking the boat any farther than i yak. Besides all the best places i know i found on a yak. I was just curious if it would even move on a windy day. Guess i just gotta get it in the water.

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk