Older metal Omc fuel tank question.

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jmar

Reaction score
So my fuel tank leaks at the gasket when not in use after running and has some pressure in the tank, I just ordered a new gasket for it. My question is do I need to loosen the cap to relieve pressure every time I turn off the motor on the water? The tank is older, has no vent cap, and has the pins on the connector where from what I've read lets air in, but not out. I've forgotten a couple times now only to look back and notice fuel running down the tank. Even when I replace the gasket, that doesn't seem like that will fix the pressure issue. The fuel will just push up into the motor is what I'm thinking. I've searched all over for this and can't find a clear answer. Evinrude connectors. 1979 9.9hp. Thanks.

I am not an expert on this matter but I do have 3 or 4 of
these fine metal vintage tanks.
I have heard that when the cap gets rusted or lost, the
boater simply goes down to the auto store and buys a
radiator cap for it - - - - this does NOT work on these tanks.
The original cap has a relief valve in the cap - the radiator
cap does not. So first - check to see what kind of cap you have.
it should have a wire spring type keeper fastened to the cap, #14 & 15
then, come back with your findings.
cap.gif

This is the cap. Not sure if it is original. Has no way to relieve pressure.

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    53.3 KB · Views: 545
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    48.9 KB · Views: 545
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    72.7 KB · Views: 545