Planing and correct weight distribution

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MarcusBrown

Reaction score
Hi there, in my last post I explained that I'm a complete newbie but really want to learn the correct way rather than being one of those boaters everyone looks at like "they don't know what there doing"
I was hoping that some one can fully explain what planing is. I have obviously read Wikipedia and I understand the concept of hydrodynamic lift but if some one can can explain it to me in terms of my 12 ally v hull lightweight that would be great.
Also I'd like advice on weight distribution. When I'm on the boat on my own the front lifts considered making it hard to see. When with friends it seams good but if I have some one sitting right at the front we get a lot of splash. Where should the weight ideally be centred baring in mind obviously me the motor and fuel will always be at the rear.
As I said rookie questions but I'm learning.
Thanks a lot

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

It's a Czech built (I'm in the uk) called a marine 12m and I'm using at the moment 4hp Mercury 4stroke but will soon up grade to a 9-10hp in the new future. Out board without a console. The boat alone only weighs 65kg and I'm a skinny runt too ;)
Tganks

It's a Czech built (I'm in the uk) called a marine 12m and I'm using at the moment 4hp Mercury 4stroke but will soon up grade to a 9-10hp in the new future. Out board without a console. The boat alone only weighs 65kg and I'm a skinny runt too ;)
Tganks

Ahoy mate, from across the pond!