First time moding a boat....looking for help.

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Corbett8488

Reaction score
1542 Tracker build.....And I'm just gonna wing it.

Hey guys, I've really been enjoying your forum for the last few months. I'm new to aluminum boats and I now have two to play around with (12 & 15).

I have been fishing in the 1542 at least once a week and I'm ready to make some upgrades in comfort and fishability.

Step one is putting in a floor and decking over my rear seat, to give me a flat surface and a screw in seat mount.

So here are my questions...

1) Do I really need to add foam under the floor, between the ribs?

2) What's the best way to attach the floor

3) I'm thinking of just going with 1/2 exterior plywood (Not marine) what is everyone using to seal it with?

4) What kind of carpet is everyone using?

Thanks in advance for all of your help.

Okay, I went with ridged foam between the ribs, 3/4 inch sanded plywood for the floor with 2 coats of Ploy on each side.

Next question....

Should I screw the floor into the ribs?

If so what kind of screws, sheet metal?

R,

you can get a box of 100 self-tapping stainless screws from a mail order company
such as McMaster-Carr, MSC, Grainger, E-Bay, etc or at your Big Box Stores.
get the correct size to go through the plywood into the braces - but be very careful not to penetrate the hull.
some auto upholstery supply companies also carry them.

deck screws.jpg

I got it cut, polyed and carpeted. It fits in there snug.

is there any draw back to keeping it removable?

Have you ever done that or do you always screw it in?

R,

If you leave the plywood loose it won't hold the foam in. The plywood and foam will float away if you swamp the boat.