Maximum Outboard Setback

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blessed

Reaction score
Hi
I am new to Tin Boats and have been following and learning from the forums and would appreciate your advice. Am putting an Alweld 1648 VV LA 21” transom with a 25 Hp Mercury 2 stoke long shaft remote steer. Have purchase a Vance 4” setbackbac manual jack Plate and would like to use this with my Neptune trim and tilt. This would result in a total setback of 11”. Will this be too much?
Thanks so much

I'm no expert on setbacks, but I don't think 11" is too much at all. Some larger boats have 3' setbacks.

I think you'll need to adjust your engine up 1/2" for every 1 foot set back, if memory serves me right. The jack plate will do this for you, I suppose.

Thanks Crazyboat. I appreciate your response. Seems very wise and logical. Think I’m going forward. Want to get the boat ready for Spring which will be soon here in SC. My Mother-in-Law has a place on Lake Greenwood. This 16’ Boat should be perfect. I have been following the Tin Boats forums since June 2017 and love them.

I have a Tracker 1648 and a 6" setback was like adding 50 pounds (about 20-25% of the motor weight) to the stern. I took it off. When you shift that weight back it changes the center of gravity and the boat significantly squats deeper in the rear.

I would assume 11" is twice that. You may want to put it on and put the boat in the water to see before committing too much to it.

chuck99z28 said:
I have a Tracker 1648 and a 6" setback was like adding 50 pounds (about 20-25% of the motor weight) to the stern. I took it off. When you shift that weight back it changes the center of gravity and the boat significantly squats deeper in the rear.

I would assume 11" is twice that. You may want to put it on and put the boat in the water to see before committing too much to it.
Very good point I did not consider.