First boat project, Lot’s of ?’s, LoneStar Holiday

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Davescustomdesigns

Reaction score
Hello All, I’m a newbie to the boating world, bear with me! Lol. Recently I purchased a boat and after doing some research, I think it’s a ‘56 or ‘57 LoneStar Holiday 16ft. It seems to be in fairly good shape after removing over 200gals of leaves and water...Shopvac was doing overtime! It’s gutted, no floor, no foam, no seats, nothing but hull, stringers, aluminum seat boxes and the dash. I guess my question is, what do I do now? How do I move forward in restoring this boat? Should I strip the aluminum of paint and seal rivets? What products and procedures do I need to consider? I’m a carpenter so I’m confident in my skills just need to know the steps to consider before starting. Any advice, warnings and/or tips are appreciated! Thanks

Attachments

• 506E44A6-3E55-4CB3-A2A0-47F96E00E24E.jpeg
    506E44A6-3E55-4CB3-A2A0-47F96E00E24E.jpeg
    116.2 KB · Views: 666
  • 03630D25-5151-4C04-A60A-9F0E17415E40.jpeg
    03630D25-5151-4C04-A60A-9F0E17415E40.jpeg
    71.5 KB · Views: 666
Depends on the level of finish you want and the intended use. It’s sitting on the trailer now so it’s a good time to plop the hose in and see if and where it leaks. From there you can either totally strip it or simply sand the rough spots and feather the edges and repaint. It’s a blank canvas.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk