Rookie Boater seeking advice on Family Jon Boat

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MaxBobcat

Reaction score
I am looking to get an affordable boat that will primarily be used for family joy rides and to a lesser extent fishing. I have two young daughters and a wife and would like to take them out on nearby lakes. Whatever kind of boat I get, I would like to get a Bimini top for some shade. I live in DFW and would likely be going on Lake Grapevine the most. I have very little experience boating, but I have heard good things about welded aluminum jon boats. Namely, they are light, sturdy and hold their value.

I would like a boat that can fit on a trailer in my garage. My garage is 20' long. I'd like an outboard motor that is powerful enough to make me and the kids "feel" like we're moving fast. Going 20 would be nice, but I'd like to be able to go at least 12-15 mph. I'd like something that will be easy for me to launch with minimal help. I will have two young girls and a wife who is even greener than me with boats. I am interested in used boats and my budget is ~$3,500 for the boat, motor, and trailer.

Since I will likely be going public waters the most, I am under the impression that whatever the safety sticker on the boat says about Max Persons, is the law that the Texas Parks and Wildlife will enforce. For that reason, a boat like a Tracker Topper 1236 would not work for me since it says the max persons is 3.

I have been perusing the Tracker website and was surprised to see how low the Max Persons is on a lot of their 2020 Jon boats. All 3 models of the Tracker Toppers have a Max Persons of 3. And it is not until you get to the 1648 Tracker Grizzly that you can seat 4.