My First Boat Mod...and Posting!

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mob77

Reaction score
Hey Everyone

Love the site. I've gotten so many great ideas from reading about others on here who have done some amazing modifications.

I have a 14 ft aluminum with a 15 hp that I recently purchased for bass fishing and I'm now looking to do a few relatively minor modifications to it. Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated....all the more so because this is my first project :)

1) Battery Placement - Given that there already alot of weight in the back part of the boat (outboard, gas, driver) I'm thinking of cutting a square hole in the top of the box section near the bow of the boat (see pic 4). Is this a good idea, weight distribution wise? Where is the most common place for battery placement on a small 14 foot boat?

2) Moving the first bench - I would like to remove the first wooden seat (the one closest to the bow)...see pic 2....and move it to the end of the boat (near the transom) for the driver. With regards to this I have a number of questions. First, will this somehow negatively affect the stability/integrity of the boat? And if not, how can I go about removing it without leaving a bunch of holes in the side of my boat. **If you refer to pics 6 and 7 in my next posting you can see that the wooden seats are fastened into the boat through the hull** Is there a relatively safe way of removing this bench without destroying my boat?