Newbie here....in need of some advise/help

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JeepDVL45

Reaction score
I'm going to apologize now, I'm sure there are tons of threads like this, but I searched the forum for them and couldn't find much......so I started this one.

Ok, so I'm a newbie...that in mind, please be gentile. I am in the market for a Jon Boat (something water ready so I can finish the year fishing, I want to aviod anything someone has already moded because I don't want any suprises). I've been scouring Craigslist for the past few weeks but haven't found anything for a particularly good price that meets my needs (so I'm thinking of just going new), I've also been on this forum (and many others) reading up and checking out some AMAZING JonBoat mods. (You guys are good). That being said, I found a company near me that sells JonBoats, and they're having a sale.

I know I want to get a 14' Jon Boat. I also know that I want to mod it...probably over the winter, because I don't have the time to do it this year with the fishing season already on top of us (and it will give me more time to save $$)

Now, the different 14' models that are on sale (all are welded aluminum) are 1432($799), 1436($899) and 1448($1695), I am assuming that 14 is for 14' and 32/36/48 is for the width of the bottom? Is that correct? They say that the beam width is 51", 57" and 72" respectively.

What are the advantages over welded vs. rivited?

I don't want to go with the 1448 for 2 reasons, its (IMO) a little wide for my liking, and I don't exaclty have $1700 at the moment. I was leaning towards the 1436, but I want to make sure it isn't too narrow to deck. I'll be fishing it on small lakes/large ponds, and maybe on the occasional river excursion, and there will only ever be 2 adults in the boat.