Rivited vs. welded

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

djohnson

Reaction score
Every where I have called to get a wider boat, they keep pushing me to a welded boat???? Is a welded boat THAT much better than a rivited boat for decking??

It all depends on what you are going to do with it.

Welded is a lot more structurally solid.

My money is they are trying to bump the sale. But the all welded models do tend to not leak over time. Structually speaking I wouldn't think there would be a huge differance as the rib supports are the same. Grant you I am not an expert in either, but thats just my thoughts. BTW - My jon is a 1978 Alumicraft 1432 riveted and has no leaks, I guess it realy boils down to the craftmenship irregardless of rivets or welds.

Like others have noted, there are tons of riveted jons from the 60s & 70s out there that dont leak.

I plan to buy a semi V hull next year for use on Mobile Bay & Mississippi Sound. It will be a riveted hull, probably a lund or smokercraft. My riveted 1440 mv has been used in the same conditions & places for 10 years with no leaks.

If you abuse a boat, maybe welded is worth it. Maybe a little better in saltwater, some foks think so. Or if it is the hull you want and can afford it, go for it.
But on freshwater, when not abused, a riveted jon should last 20+ years. And if weight in an issue, riveted boats are a lot lighter.

smoody said:
Airplanes are riveted. makes me wonder the theory behind welded be superior.
You must own or have looked at a Lund. They push that point a bit.