Advice on Video Cameras

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

russ010

Reaction score
I'm looking to get a compact digital video camera to take on my hunting and fishing trips. I don't know much about video cameras, but I know a little about still cameras.

I want something compact with a good optical zoom. I'm not interested in Digital zoom simply because it does more distortion than I want.

I was looking online this morning and ran across a Canon FS100 for $300 with an 8GB card. I just started looking, so I would like some insight to what you guys have, and anything that I should steer away from.

Yeah, I've been eying this same camera for a couple of months now. I like the fact that it's digital with much fewer moving parts. As Jim said, the zoom is great too, not to mention it also takes still shots (although the reviews say the stills aren't so great). I would be interested in what others thinks as well. Anyone found anything they like better?

I was looking on consumer reports, and none of the cameras they tested really had "good" results... the highest score was like 65 out of 100. I couldn't match up one camera that had good quality with any other feature that I really wanted.

I looked at wal-marts website and there was a camera on there (can't remember the model or make) but the women who used them seemed to like them alot.

I really want to get it so that I can video me reeling the fish in, and doing video documentation sort of like a fishing log. I hate when I catch a fish to record the time, what I bait I was using, water temp, outside weather, location, etc... this way I could video everything - the catch plus all the details, then just buy another external hard drive to store. The camera we are talking about saves all the clips as individual files also.