74' Chrysler 15hp Outboard

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am no mechanic when it comes to boat motors. just had a quick question. I have read up on some of the other posts and it kind of answered my ? but then again it didnt. My motor is listed in the subject. My ? is when I hook my motor up and let it run with a hose it doesnt seem to be streaming water. It seems to spray it. I dont know if maybe the hose connection doesnt get it enough water. I have not tried to put it in a trashcan or anything like that. When out on the lakes, it seems to be ok still just sprays the water out. It doesnt overheat or anything. It did run a little rough when I first got it. I put new plugs in it last summer. That did seem to fix the rough problem. It still will not idle on its own. I have to just give it a tiny bit of throttle. I can say for a 74' it does run great. I tried to take the lower unit off the other day, but couldnt figure out how to unattach it from the shift link. I was going to check the water pump and see if it was maybe worn. Hopefully not, but for a 74' it could be. I know when i bought it from one of my buddies he said it had been rebuilt, piston and rings that is. I only paid 250 for it so, I think I got a pretty good deal for a 15 horse. I plan on getting some paint and repainting it. I would like to know also about how to maybe add a kill switch to it, right now I have to just let it die. Any suggestions please let me know. I took a couple of pics to show the water ports and the exhaust. Thanks for looking.

Attachments

• DSCN0805.JPG
    DSCN0805.JPG
    811.1 KB · Views: 806