MOTOR TROUBLE.....CARB?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shawnfish

Reaction score
I POSTED A FEW WEEKS AGO ABOUT MY 1980 25HP JOHNSON RUNNING FINE AT 5MPH BUT SPUTTERING AND WANTING TO DIE AT A HIGHER SPEED. SOMEONE SUGGESTED MAKING SURE THE FUEL TANK WAS VENTED WICH IVE NEVER DONE BUT IT WORKED.....UNTILL NOW. IT DOES THE OPPOSITE THING, RUNS GREAT OPENED UP BUT WANT TO DIE AT IDLE AND SLOW SPEEDS. THE CARB IS WHAT COMES TO MIND FIRST,COULD IT BE THE FUEL PUMP? I CHECKED THE FILTER AND ITS FINE. I WANT TO TRY TO FIX IT MYSELF BEFORE TAKING IT IN TO GET LOOKED AT. IM BY NO MEANS A MECHANIC BUT AM VERY MECHANICALLY INCLINED. ANY SUGGESTIONS?

What does a fuel pump do? It's sole purpose is to keep the needle and seat in the carburetor closed. If it can supply fuel to the carb at WOT then it can certainly supply it at idle. Disclaimer.....You may have a very small air leak in the fuel line that can affect pump operation (it would rather suck air than fuel though may overcome a very small leak at higher RPM) so check this at all fittings. The carburetor would be where to go next. It has very small passages in it for idle operation which can be restricted easily. I f you attempt to clean it yourself it would be wise to purchase a new kit for the carb. New kits have alcohol resistant flexible fuel components in them. Clean all small passages with compressed air or a piece of tag wire or equivalent.

First off the sole purpose of the fuel pump is to pump fuel to the carb, not to keep the needle in the seat. The float's sole purpose is to keep the needle in the seat, when the float bowl is full. But I digress. That is really not important.