What is good paint for an outboard?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

G Lap

Reaction score
I have a 1988 Suzuki 20hp outboard that I have been using for about 8 yrs. The motor has done very well for me, but as far as appearance . . . it has seen better days. The paint has chipped off in many places on the lower unit, and the fiberglass engine cover has most of the original paint peeled off. I want to repaint the motor, but I want to take the time and do it right so it will last.
What type of paint is the most durable for this application, and where can they be purchased?
Also, I would appreciated any tips from you guys who have experiece repainting outboard motors . . . thanks.

you should be able to get the original paint colors from suzuki, i got mine from evinrude/johnson. you can also get the original decals from them or online, they're out there you just have to hunt for them. my buddy bought over the counter spray paint and some clear coat(poly,) and used it and it looks great, he said he was careful to tape everywhere he thought the paint or poly should not get into. good luck!

Shawnfish -
Has the over the counter paint that your friend used, or the Evinrude paint that you used held up over time? I don't really care if the paint that I use matches the factory original. It seems that I heard somewhere that epoxy paints are real durable, but I do not know anything about these, if it would be a good application for them, or where to buy them.

G Lap said:
Shawnfish -
Has the over the counter paint that your friend used, or the Evinrude paint that you used held up over time? I don't really care if the paint that I use matches the factory original. It seems that I heard somewhere that epoxy paints are real durable, but I do not know anything about these, if it would be a good application for them, or where to buy them.