1989 johnson 25hp problems....please help

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

djchris

Reaction score
I have a 1989 johnson 25hp model TJ25ELCEB. I have a really hard time getting it started.....once started it runs smooth at idle and up till the last time i used it it ran pretty good threw all rpm ranges.....Once warm it would start right back up USUALLY with out choking.....sometimes i would have to choke it and it would run rough for a few seconds than smooth out......now the last time i had it out last year after already warm it was a PITA to get started and when i would give it some throttle it would die.....I figured out by holding the choke it would run smooth and seemed to run just fine till i got to the dock to load up......

Now i have alot of mechanical ability as i am a automotive mechanic and it seems to be a fuel/carb problem......my question is how hard is it to remove clean/rebuild carb with NO prior outboard repair experience????? Is this something i should be able to do on my own or would you guys recommend i just take it in and have a professional work on it?

Any info would be appreciated and thank you in advance

I agree it sounds like a carb issue but I'd also check the compression just to be sure. Cleaning carbs on these smaller outboards is fairly easy once you get it off. Some are more of a challenge to remove than others. They aren't much different than a carb on a honda lawn mower or motorcycle carbs, if you've ever torn in to one of those. Being a mechanic, I'd say you should be able to tackle it with no problem.

im sure it's not a compression problem but i will check it tomorrow....the carb looks like a pain to get off....think i have to remove the starter to get it out of there....thanks for you reply

Yes you will have to remove the starter which is the hardest part of the entire process.