MOTOR TROUBLES!!!!!!! Please help

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dettmer13

Reaction score
Hey everyone. I have a 1989 Johnson 25HP (Model J25RCEM) thats having a few issues. It was running rough (sneezing, oil on the plugs, not idling just dieing, and not running at full RPM) I put in a carb rebuild kit and now I've noticed the following issues:

-Will not fire up when fuel line is attached, but only when I fill the float bowl and disconnect the fuel hose.
-Prop still spins when in neutral (Just noticed this when I had the motor in the tank)
-Idle is still off, and when I adjust the fuel mixture screw, nothing happens.

Any help would be appreciated. I am new to boat motors but am not new to 2 stroke engines. It's getting pretty frustrating. Considering taking it to a outbaord mechanic but I need to save some serious $$$.

Just a few thoughts...
1) First, be sure to use 50:1 fuel mix.
2) When you rebuilt the carb, did you change the float valve and gasket, and adjust the float?
If the float valve isn't shutting off the fuel, then it could be flooding. Which probably lead you to disconnect the fuel line. Once you get this figured out, I think you should be able to get the idle dialed-in right.
3) Its normal for the prop to spin slowly in neutral. If its spinning like its in gear, then you got
a problem.

Ok dettmer did the motor run good when you bought it? Did you remove all the welch plugs (3 plugs I believe) and clean all the jets in the carb? All gaskets are in correct?

If your float valve is not shutting off then you will be able to pump the primer ball on your gas tank and literally push fuel up through the throat of your carb, not a good thing. If so take apart and see if something got stuck in the seat and like Jasper said, make sure you have float level correct.

Did you just purchase the motor?