Mid 80's 25hp Evinrude

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Action762

Reaction score
Hey guys I just wanted an opinion on a 12 foot modified Aero Craft with a 25hp Evinrude. My sister has it, the motor, and her and her husband used it for their 16' but they no longer need it and want to give it to me. It runs great and all of that... meaning nothing is broke or in need of repair. I just want to make sure it is not overkill for the boat size. :lol: Thanks...

HAHA thanks RamRod!! I figured this would be a good one. I am new to the modifying work though so I will be in need of some answers and I am also glad I found this site... Its a good one!

Thats great JMichael... Very encouraging!!! Also I see that 20hp on your mod so I know the extra 5hp wont make much difference. Im starting to think it was a stupid question #-o

My boat is 3 feet longer than yours and it's only got a 20. Hint Hint :wink: And I'm not saying you can't do it. But it might be exciting and fun to watch. :lol: Alot of that will also depend on what the boat is rated for (don't want to overload the transom) and how much additional weight is going to be in the boat and how it's balanced out. There's a bit of a discussion going on in another thread right now about what would happen with a 35hp 4 stroke on a 14 foot boat.

A few years ago, while working on my tin I put my 25 nissan on my budies 12 foot flat. We used it a few times and all I can say is WOW. That thing would really fly. It was a bare hull, no floor,no deck, no weight :lol: It was a riot,If you do it just be carefull, and sane about it. Yes it can get dangerous so be safe.