6 Gallon fuel tank

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

03sp500

Reaction score
Hello everyone. Im a newbie. I love this site and have learned an awful lot already, I hope to be able to contribute to it as well as I go.

I just got a Sea Nymph 14R with a 15 hp Johnson last weekend. very happy with what I got. The gentleman was very nice to deal with, he gave me a metal fuel tank that I think is original with the motor. I would like to switch to a plastic 6 gallon tank. I went to westmarine and they have a deal on a Attwood "low permeation" tank. doing a little check I found that some people say its not the tank to get. I would have to buy a new style hose with a pressure regulator built in and special tank connectors which puts the price at about 125.00 (tank is 44.69). I can surf the net and find regular tanks for about 50.00.

So my question is (yes there is a question) has anyone else ran into this issue and what does everyone think about this new type tank?.

Attachments

• IMG_20130713_191700_402.jpg
    IMG_20130713_191700_402.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 4,987
Never heard of that style before. I went to Academy and bought a 6 gal (probably Attwood) a few years ago. Check with them.

https://www.academy.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Product_10151_10051_586253_-1__?N=574973169

This tank does not come with a fitting for the fuel line because different motors (johnson versus yamaha etc.) take different fittings but I think the are 5 or 10 bucks. If your fuel line is really old, you may want to replace it too. Now those cost almost as much as a tank.

I too have the tank that Moe linked and I haven't had or heard any issues with it. It's nice because it fits under my rear deck.

Can you explain the reason people are saying it's not the one to get?