Small Celebrations ...

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stringtyer

Reaction score
This is just a bit of public celebration. A friend had a '69 Johnson 20 hp that had not been started for about 6 years, he had no boat, no use for the motor, and no inclination to mess with it, so he gave it to me. I have no experience rebuilding outboards but decided to jump in to see what I could do.

I checked compression and spark, both good. Replaced the impeller and rebuilt the carb (that took more nerve that I thought I had). Hooked up the gas tank and pulled. Nothing. Pull, nothing ... repeat. Finally pulled the choke and it fired ... and died. Pumped the bulb and found a small leak in the fuel pump cover. Replaced cover, screen, and gasket ... pulled the choke ... pulled the cord and it fired right up! Looks like I have a good motor for about $60 worth of parts. Happiness!

Now, a question ...

The motor smokes quite a bit. I'm wondering if that will calm down after the motor warms up. Any advice will be appreciated.

What's you fuel/oil mix?

It will probably smoke less once all the crud is burned up (mice carcasses, etc.) :p

You should run some seafoam straight through the carb...

... never-mind, I forgot you were wanting less smoke. :LOL2:

It would be good to run the seafoam, though. It will smoke like crazy for a few, but it will run better after the de-carb.

[url=https://www.tinboats.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=327249#p327249 said:
stringtyer » Today, 14:12[/url]"]This is just a bit of public celebration. A friend had a '69 Johnson 20 hp that had not been started for about 6 years, he had no boat, no use for the motor, and no inclination to mess with it, so he gave it to me. I have no experience rebuilding outboards but decided to jump in to see what I could do.