Evinrude 15 / can you tell me anything about this motor?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deezdrama

Reaction score
Just bought my first boat that is powered by an outboard so Im completely new to this.

The boat is an 88 15' aluminum mod-v smoker craft bass catcher.
Came with a 15hp Evinrude that im assuming is from the same year?
The model number is not readable (anyone know it?)

Basically... I want to take the boat out on the nearby lake for a test run before I recarpet it and buy new seats and fishfinder.

Im not sure if I should do any preventive maintenance or check anything before I go out, Im assuming it would be smart to drop a garbage can of water under it and get the feel of it/ test it first.

The seller said it had new impeller and carb cleaned a couple years ago and that he had it out on the water early this year, said its been reliable and runs like a top.
The gas tank is half full... I assume I should dump it and make a fresh mix.

Again...this is my first outboard and not even quite sure how to operate it because the tiller handle I think has selections for starting it and maybe for putting it in gear? but the words are wore off.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

What should I do? Drop it in can of water, make sure its in nuetral, pump priming bulb, choke it and fire her up?

any breakdown of things to do/check would be lifesaving

thanks (sorry about the pic orientation... smartphones can be dumbphones)

Attachments

• smokercraft.jpg
    smokercraft.jpg
    48.8 KB · Views: 1,107
  • 20140717_080029.jpg
    20140717_080029.jpg
    344 KB · Views: 1,107
  • 20140717_080101.jpg
    20140717_080101.jpg
    368 KB · Views: 1,107
  • 20140717_090140.jpg
    20140717_090140.jpg
    250.3 KB · Views: 1,107
  • 20140717_090111.jpg
    20140717_090111.jpg
    281.4 KB · Views: 1,107
  • 20140717_090125.jpg
    20140717_090125.jpg