Water pump / steam ?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Djknyork

Reaction score
A buddy of mine has a mid 90's Mercury 9.9 that was steaming big time with no water from the tell tale on the way in from duck hunting today. He also said he saw it spitting water from the tell tail in pulses prior to the steam pouring out and the pulses of water totally stopping. We killed the motor & used the electric to get back to the ramp to avoid overheating it.
What would be the first thing you would look at? Water pump? Clogged water jacket? I'm no mechanic but figured it has to be getting water to make the steam.
Thanks!

Impeller, water pump. When was the last time the impeller was changed?

If it was July or August I would check for weeds first. Since this is December, it sounds like the impeller. They should be replaced every several years.

Could also be a blockage in the powerhead. But I always carry on board a few feet of thick weed-whacker mono and coiled spring wire for cleaning out the 'pee port' or tell-tale cooling water discharge ports. Another thing in regards to blockages - if the water can't discharge, it can't feed in new cooling water!

FWIW my bros and I run a dozen or more OBs just between us and during any season and I'll take care of another few dozen or so, for my boatclub and other owners. I'd say on average, where cooling is suspect, cleaning the port works on more than half and then on the others, completely remove the cooling tube from the powerhead nipple and clean inside there. On just a few I've had to remove the LU and tip them upside-down and fill the heads with vinegar or Salt-Away and let them sit for a day. I have also used test barrels where the water was charged with Salt-Away or vinegar and would periodically run them and then let them sit to soak it.